Tags

, ,

Coconut flour picture 1

Coconut flour.

As my partner is gluten intolerant I’m always on the look out for alternatives to wheat flour. There are a number of generic gluten free flours available but I like to experiment with grain free options such as almond meal and coconut flour.

I discovered coconut flour at the Marrickville organic food markets a few months back and have been baking with it ever since. This has been a process of trial and error and there have been a number of muffins/loaves that have unfortunately ended up in my bin.

To hopefully save you some of the heartache that I endured I have come up with some helpful tips that I learned along the way.

Tips

  • Always sieve coconut flour before using as it tends to be rather lumpy.
  • It is best to use established recipes and then modify them rather than trying to work them out yourself – there are many recipes available online.
  • Coconut flour cannot be substituted 1:1 for wheat flour! A little coconut flour goes a long way, e.g. in a batch of muffins you may only need 1/3 cup coconut flour.
  • Coconut flour is very dry and requires more liquid than wheat flour. The general rule is 6 eggs per 1/3 cup of coconut flour.
  • Coconut flour is sweet so it is important to bear this in mind when using it in savoury recipes as it may alter the taste.

In the next few weeks I will hopefully be able to post some recipes that use coconut flour which you can then follow and adapt to your taste!

So, why not give coconut flour a go? Let me know how you get on via the comments section below…

