Tags

, , , , ,

gluten free blueberry cake picture 1

Gluten free blueberry cake.

Firstly I would like to say Merry Christmas to you all! I hope you had a lovely day celebrating with your family and/or friends. I have been down in Wandiligong, Victoria for the past few days and have been enjoying lovely weather, company and of course food…

Unfortunately this has meant that I haven’t been able to write any new posts but tonight I made a scrumptious blueberry cake that I would like to share with you. Earlier this morning I took a drive to Bright Berry Farm and purchased half a kilo of blueberries. Initially I thought I would make an Eton mess but this idea was quickly scrapped after I found this berry cake recipe. This recipe can easily be adapted to use any kind of berries and I think I may have to give it a go in winter using stewed apples.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup + 1/2 tsp gluten free flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 115g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 large eggs or 3 small
  • 2 cups blueberries

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. Line the bottom of a 23cm cake tin with baking paper and grease the sides.
  3. In a small bowl combine 1 cup of flour, the baking powder and salt.
  4. In a separate bowl cream the butter and sugar – this should take 3-4 minutes or longer if beating by hand.Gluten free blueberry cake picture 2
  5. Add the vanilla essence and mix.
  6. Add the eggs and beat for another few minutes.
  7. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat until just combined.
  8. Carefully spoon into the prepared cake tin.
  9. Use the flour bowl to mix together the blueberries and 1/2 tsp flour.
  10. Sprinkle the berry mixture over the batter.
  11. Bake for approximately 1 hour or until golden brown.
  12. Remove from the oven and when it has cooled slightly tip upside down onto a plate or board.
  13. Serve with freshly whipped cream and blueberries.
  14. Enjoy!

Number of servings: 8

Gluten free blueberry cake picture 3

