Tags

, , , , , , ,

 Mexican corn fritters_picture 1

Mexican corn fritters.

I love summer. Apart from its obvious positive characteristics such as endless days and beach trips it also means I get to enjoy some of my favourite foods such as stone fruits, berries, avocados and corn! Corn is available throughout the year but I find summertime is when it’s at its sweetest, tastiest best. It’s the perfect vegetable to throw on the barbecue and enjoy with a dab of butter and a sprinkle of salt. But for those times when you feel like something a little different corn fritters are the perfect choice.

Now as far I’m aware corn fritters aren’t particularly Mexican but I have used some Mexican flavours and served it with guacamole which lead me to naming this post Mexican fritters. I made these for a simple dinner but they would be great on the weekend for brunch with a side of crispy bacon…

If you’re not a fan of the spices I’ve used then you can simply replace them with some that suit your taste. I think fresh coriander or basil would work well as would a little finely sliced red onion. Why not give these a go next time you have guests around for brunch? An added bonus is that they’re gluten and lactose free!

Ingredients

  • 500g whole corn kernels (you can use fresh or canned)
  • 1 long red chilli
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup gluten free flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Method

  1. Finely dice the red chilli and add to a bowl with the corn, eggs, gluten free flour, Mexican corn fritters_picture 2paprika, cumin and mix well.
  2. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Heat a large non-stick saucepan over a medium heat.
  4. Add the olive oil and tilt the pan to coat the surface evenly.
  5. Place spoonfuls of the corn mixture into the pan and cook for about two minutes on each side or until golden brown.
  6. Serve with my guacamole and a splash of Tabasco sauce.
  7. Enjoy!

Number of servings: 10-12 fritters

